最成功的企業認識到,公司中給予的感謝越多,其業績就越好。人畢竟是您最寶貴的資源,雖然有些公司把薪酬和福利作為實現目標的胡蘿蔔,但在對工作成果表示認可時,金錢以外的獎勵也很重要。 

長期以來,對員工表示認可一直是有效管理的基石,但這是一門很少有人掌握的藝術。適當的員工認可不僅要重視員工業績,更要重視促成此業績背後的員工。因此,值得為之工作的組織總會不斷評估自己該如何獎勵員工。 

不幸的是,公司規模越大,這越是一項挑戰,因為龐大的勞動力經常會對個人的關注度降低。因此,領導者必須不斷地重新思考如何保持員工的參與度和成就感,同時促進組織的目標和核心價值觀。 

以下將講述您如何圍繞表彰建立一項基礎,以支援組織的目標、啟動核心價值觀,以及提高員工的參與度。

什麼是員工認可?其重要性為何?

員工認可能為員工帶來支持,讓他們知道他們的工作和貢獻得到了讚賞。員工認可是公開承認其位分和認可其工作的行為,這反過來又使職場感覺更有包容性和人性化。 

渴望得到積極的肯定是人性的一部分,而最好的員工都渴望成功。當員工知道他們對您的企業和團隊都能產生積極的影響時,他們就會被灌輸一種使命感。因此,他們不太可能在組織之外尋求其他機會。從長遠來看,這將轉化為更高的員工留任率和更佳的雇主品牌-這往往是頂級人才考慮的關鍵因素。 

事實上,在 SurveyMonkey 和 Bonusly 調查的 1500 名受訪者中,63%「總是」或「通常」被認可的人說他們「非常不可能」在未來三到六個月內換工作。相比之下,只有 11% 的「從未」或「很少」被認可的人會說自己「非常不可能」在未來三到六個月內換工作。在所有受訪者中,82% 的人表示,當他們在工作中得到認可時,他們會更開心。 這也會促使他們的積極性和生產力提高幾個檔次,創造一個積極的公司文化和有效的員工團隊。

相關閱讀:為什麼您需要重視求職者體驗?

相關技巧:如果建立一項充滿意義的員工表揚計畫

1. 直接具體

與一般的恭維相比,與具體成就相關的表揚總是更有意義-無論是達到銷售目標還是最終實現職涯突破。對具體成就給予表揚,也能讓員工更輕易地將認可與其工作聯繫起來,並鼓勵他們重複這種的行為,並同時激勵他們之後做出更好的表現。

2. 發揮創意

為了在充滿感恩的文化中受益,必須重新思考在職場表示感激的含義。一個成功的表揚計畫並不總是涉及現金,在大多數情況下,現金只能短暫地提高士氣。年輕的員工更渴望職涯發展,並希望得到新的機會來成長和發展額外的技能-無論是透過課程、商務旅行還是社交活動。 

根據組織文化架構師 Margaret Graziano 的說法,80%的工作人口不認為金錢能提高參與度或激勵。相反,這些人中有 40% 希望得到其他類型的職場報酬,如教育機會、獎勵和挑戰專案,或晉升的機會。另外 40% 的人則希望在情感上與組織的使命和服務以及其所服務的客戶產生聯繫。

3. 及時給予認可

舊新聞往往喪失意義。同樣地,在工作完成幾個月後給予肯定,也不如及時給予肯定那樣意義重大。遲來的讚賞甚至會被視為矯揉造作。請將「員工認可」視為一個有意識的優先事項,並建立正式的體制,這樣您就不會錯過及時給予員工認可的機會。

相關閱讀:一流企業靠什麼吸引人才

員工認可能提高員工的參與度?

蓋洛普的調查顯示,只有三分之一的受訪員工強烈同意他們在過去七天內因工作出色而得到了認可或表揚。員工覺得他們的努力被經理忽視也是很常見的,而那些覺得自己沒有得到充分認可的人在下一年辭職的可能性可能提高兩倍。 

在此心態下,員工不僅很難感受到動力,而且也很難在努力工作中獲得成就感和價值感。例如,蘋果公司就是這樣的一家公司。多年來,其已理解到,認可員工的努力是公司成功不可或缺的一部分。這家位於庫比蒂諾的公司在獲得非常成功的一年之後,在感恩節期間提供了一些福利,如延長帶薪假期。但是,它也深思熟慮地根據地點和職位客制化了相關獎勵,即在同等的假期裡,為世界各地的員工提供相同的帶薪休假時間。

同時,谷歌則建立了「gThanks」計畫,員工可以對其同事所做的工作給予認可。這項表揚計畫更進一步允許員工透過同儕獎勵計畫相互提名,同事們則可藉此獲得 175 美元的獎金。甚至還有一個所謂的「快樂之牆」,員工可以在此放置感謝信函和電子郵件,關注同儕的辛勤和成就,並且感謝和激勵他人。蘋果和谷歌在設立相關措施後,在《財富》的「最佳工作公司」名單中一直名列前茅,甚至,各該公司也持續在 Glassdoor 的年度「最佳職場」名單中出現,似乎也完全說得通。

結論

員工認可不僅是推升生產力、提升雇主品牌和最終留任員工的關鍵驅動力之一,更是公司人力資源戰略的一個重要組成部分。欣賞和獎勵之間的直接關聯不應受到忽視;Achievers的一項調查發現,在計劃換工作的受訪者中,44% 的人將缺乏認可列為首要原因,而 69%的人表示,更好的認可計畫會鼓勵他們留下。

實施正確的管理工具來追蹤業績並表揚出色的工作成果,將給您的員工提供他們所需要的額外動力,以保持其積極性-在這樣的精神考驗時期更是如此。

您有興趣深入瞭解嗎?請在此處下載我們的2021 年人才趨勢報告

如果你正在找工作, 請瀏覽求職專區。

你正在尋找人才嗎?

如果你是雇主且正在招募人才,請填寫下方表格,我們會回電給您。

憑藉我們的資源來宣傳你的職位

Advertise Your Role With ReachTalent

The most successful businesses recognise that the more gratitude that’s given to a company, the better it performs. People are, after all, your most valuable resource, and while some firms dangle remuneration and benefits as a carrot for meeting goals, it’s also important to look beyond monetary rewards when showing recognition for a job well done.

Employee recognition has long been a cornerstone of effective management, yet this is an art few have mastered. Proper staff appreciation looks beyond the numbers to value the people behind this success. As such, the organisations worth working for are always re-evaluating how they reward their employees.

Related: 5 interview questions to ask to tell a great candidate from a good one

Unfortunately, the larger the company grows, the more this becomes a challenge, as sizeable workforces mean less attention is paid at an individual level. Hence, leaders must constantly rethink the way they keep their employees engaged and fulfilled, at the same time as supporting the organisation’s goals and core values.

Here’s how you can build an infrastructure around recognition, and use it to bolster employer branding and company culture, as well as preserve a more productive workforce.

What is employee recognition, and why does it matter?

Employee recognition is a way of supporting your staff to let them know that their work and contributions are being appreciated. It’s the act of publicly acknowledging them for who they are and what they do, which in turn makes the workplace feel more inclusive and human.

It’s part of human nature to desire positive affirmation, and many employees are thirsty for success. Staff are instilled with a sense of purpose when they know they’ve made a positive impact on both your business and the team, and as a result, they’re less likely to seek out other job opportunities outside the organisation. In the long run, this translates to higher employee retention and better employer branding — often key factors of consideration for top talent in the market.

In fact, out of 1,500 respondents polled by SurveyMonkey and Bonusly, 63% of those who were “always” or “usually” recognised said they were “very unlikely” to job hunt in the next three to six months. By contrast, only 11% of those who are “never” or “rarely” recognised would say the same.

The study said 43% of the unrecognised group are “extremely likely” to seek work elsewhere – but only 9% of the happier cohort would. Out of all respondents, 82% stated that they were happier when they were recognised at work, which drives up motivation and productivity by several notches, creating a positive company culture and effective workforce.

Related: Why should the candidate experience matter to you?

Tips for creating a meaningful employee recognition program

1. Be specific

Recognition is always more meaningful when tied to a specific accomplishment as opposed to a generic compliment — be it hitting a sales goal or finally achieving a career breakthrough. Being specific also makes it easier for employees to relate the recognition to their work. This approach encourages them to repeat the successful behaviours while acting as motivation to match, or even better, their performance thereafter.

2. Be creative

In order to reap the benefits of a culture infused with gratitude, re-think what it means to show appreciation in the workplace. A successful recognition program doesn’t always have to involve cash, which in most cases will only temporarily boost morale. Younger employees are hungrier for career growth. They want to be rewarded with new opportunities to grow and develop additional skill sets — whether it’s through classes, business trips or networking events.

According to Margaret Graziano, an organisational culture architect, 80% of the working population doesn’t see money as a lever that leads to engagement or incentivisation. Instead, 40% of these people want other kinds of workplace recompense such as educational opportunities, rewarding and challenging projects, or a feeling of advancement. The other 40% want to feel emotionally connected to the mission and service of the organisation, as well as to the clients they serve.

3. Be timely

In the same way, that old news is far less relevant, giving recognition months after the work has been done isn’t nearly as meaningful as when it is given promptly. Late appreciation can even be seen as contrived – or even a last-minute attempt to win back employee trust. Make employee recognition a conscious priority and have formal systems in place so that you won’t miss a timely opportunity to recognise your employees’ achievements.

Related: How the best companies are attracting the talent they want

Does employee recognition improve employee engagement?

According to Gallup, only one in three workers surveyed has strongly agreed that they received recognition or praise for doing good work in the past seven days. It’s also common for employees to feel that their efforts are ignored by their managers, and those who do not feel adequately recognised are twice as likely to quit in the next year.

With this mindset, it’s hard for employees not only to feel motivated but also to gain a sense of accomplishment and value in their hard work. Apple, for example, is one such company that has understood and recognised the efforts of its workforce as integral to the company’s success over the years. The Cupertino-based firm has offered perks such as extended, paid holidays during Thanksgiving following a very successful year. But it has also thoughtfully customised the reward based on location and job role, by offering workers in different parts of the world the same paid time off during an equivalent holiday.

Google, meanwhile, has created the ‘gThanks’ program, in which employees can give recognition to their co-workers for a job well done. This recognition program goes even further by allowing staff to nominate each other through the peer-bonuses program, whereby colleagues can receive a bonus of US$175. There’s even a so-called “Wall of Happy”, where staff can place thank-you notes and emails that spotlight the hard work and achievements of their peers, in order to thank and motivate others. With these types of initiatives, it’s little surprise that Apple and Google have been consistently ranked highly in Fortune’s “Best Companies to Work For” list, as well as in Glassdoor’s “Best Places to Work” list every year.

As one of the key drivers for productivity, employer branding and ultimately retention, employee recognition should be an integral part of a company’s HR strategy. The direct link between appreciation and rewards shouldn’t be ignored. A survey by Achievers found that 44% of respondents who were planning to switch jobs cited a lack of recognition as the number one reason, while 69% said that a better recognition program would encourage them to stay.

Implementing the right management tools to keep track of performance and highlight exceptional work will give your employees the extra push they need to stay motivated — even more so during mentally trying times like these.

Interested in learning more? Download our Talent Trends 2021 report here.

Read more:
9 ways to manage a remote team effectively 
3 ways to be agile during business disruption—fast
How to be more confident at work according to Asia's female leaders

If you are looking for a job, visit the Candidates section

Are you Hiring?

If you are an employer and would like to discuss your hiring needs, fill in the form below and we will call you back.

Please note that this form is for hiring managers looking to hire. If you are looking for a job, please apply for a job or submit your CV.

Advertise Your Role With Us

Advertise Your Role With ReachTalent